Pearl Okoro
2 min readNov 26, 2023

MUTE

One word…. a thousand meanings,

No sound…… infinity of voices,

To be heard or not to be heard,

To be seen or not to be seen,

To be seen and not to be heard,

Or to be heard and not to be seen.

“the emptiest barrel makes the loudest noise.” I agree, I am that empty barrel screaming at the top of my lungs yet no one regards me. I am hollow not for lack of nothing to offer but having everything to show yet mute. Muted by the acceptance of others, muted by the bias of my environment. They say “ there is no place like home"….

Well this is my home. It follows me everywhere I go. Every corner, every turn, every stare, every word. “ You can take the girl out of the barrel but you can’t take the barrel out of the girl.” I am hollow because I have nothing else to give. My words…. given, my thoughts…. given. I am all alone screaming but not talking. The interesting thing about this barrel however, is it’s emptiness. Wider opportunities for growth, lots of space for healing and a steady heart rate….. but I don’t want to be full because, to do that I’d have to acknowledge I am empty. “ My people perish for lack of knowledge.” I wrote that… but now I perish for lack of knowledge. Funny isn’t it?

Pearl Okoro

An aspiring Psychologist , photography nerd and content writer